Spinner Backing Plates

Share your thoughts, photos and general help to all builders

Postby nightwave51 » Mon Apr 26, 2004 9:21 pm

Hi
Does anyone know where I can get new backing plates for the prop spinners? If not , does anyone know what grade of aluminum they're supposed to be made out of . I am a machinist so I can easily use the old ones as a template if I know what grade aluminum to use.
Thanks, Mark
nightwave51
Lazair.com Member

Postby b diedenhofen » Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:16 pm

You can get them from the Lazairforce website. I purchased a couple this winter, they look fine, bit of a process to install them properly, if they're not centered exactly, they'll likely crack again. I saw an installation instruction on one of the sites, but I can't remember which. It's either the Lazairforce site or the Lazair group on Yahoo. It won't take much of a search to find it though, and it was pretty straightforward.

Brian
b diedenhofen
Lazair.com Member

Postby b diedenhofen » Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:18 pm

Just a thought Mark, if you're a machinist, would you be interested in making up a few velocity stacks? I think there are a few of us who could use one or two.

Brian
b diedenhofen
Lazair.com Member

Postby rob kerr » Wed Apr 28, 2004 4:08 am

I've got to spin up some velocity stacks at some point this summer.Just have to pick up the right size aluminum and get to it.I figured someone would need some, so I plan a couple extra's.
Rob Kerr
rob kerr

Postby b diedenhofen » Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:57 am

Fantastic!, put me down for two.

Thanks,
Brian
b diedenhofen
Lazair.com Member

Postby Shannon » Wed Apr 28, 2004 3:11 pm

The OEM Rotax 185 velocity stacks where made with a tube flaring machine. The nice outer flare on the end of the stack is the first phase in making the perfect 90 degree flat flange on the other side.