Tach

Share your thoughts, photos and general help to all builders

Postby art » Sun Jun 26, 2005 11:03 pm

Does anyone have a tach in their instrument panel?
Now here comes the dumb question......does anyone use two, one for each engine?
art
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: Brewster, New York

Postby jb88ci » Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:44 am

we have one with two tiny tachs...i think a few of the guys do the same thing.
jb88ci
Popular Lazair Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 4:43 pm

Postby Guest » Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:02 am

Guest
 

Postby Chappy » Sat Jul 02, 2005 12:03 am

Hi Art,

The little tiny Tachs are nice. Sometimes I use them to check my engines, but I don't normally leave them installed. They sense engine RPM by winding a wire several times around the spark plug wire. They turn on and off automatically. I use Velcro to mount the tachs right on the sides of the nacelles facing me in the pilot's seat. The Velcro not only holds them securely, but also isolates them from the worst of the vibration too.

Currently, on my slow series I, I use only a very simple altimeter I purchased from a Hang Gliding shop for $20, a thermometer, twin CHT gauges (very rarely hooked up), $2 compass from Pep Boys, a $10 West Bend timer from Wally World, and a small slip string. I don't cheat by using a GPS. I removed the airspeed indicator in 1983 after flying Ultraflight's 2 seat prototype that didn't have one. I discovered that I enjoyed flying the Lazair more without an airspeed indicator to distract me. YMMV.

Chappy
Chappy
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 9:57 pm
Location: Northern Virginia, USA


Return to Re-Building tips and info

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron