Page 1 of 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 11:03 pm
by art
Does anyone have a tach in their instrument panel?
Now here comes the dumb question......does anyone use two, one for each engine?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:44 am
by jb88ci
we have one with two tiny tachs...i think a few of the guys do the same thing.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:02 am
by Guest

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 12:03 am
by Chappy
Hi Art,

The little tiny Tachs are nice. Sometimes I use them to check my engines, but I don't normally leave them installed. They sense engine RPM by winding a wire several times around the spark plug wire. They turn on and off automatically. I use Velcro to mount the tachs right on the sides of the nacelles facing me in the pilot's seat. The Velcro not only holds them securely, but also isolates them from the worst of the vibration too.

Currently, on my slow series I, I use only a very simple altimeter I purchased from a Hang Gliding shop for $20, a thermometer, twin CHT gauges (very rarely hooked up), $2 compass from Pep Boys, a $10 West Bend timer from Wally World, and a small slip string. I don't cheat by using a GPS. I removed the airspeed indicator in 1983 after flying Ultraflight's 2 seat prototype that didn't have one. I discovered that I enjoyed flying the Lazair more without an airspeed indicator to distract me. YMMV.

Chappy