Dacron

Share your thoughts, photos and general help to all builders

Postby russell » Mon Oct 10, 2005 3:36 pm

What is the weight spec for the dacron that was used on the wing tips on the
earlier Lazairs? Is the dacron sold by "Spruce" company zero porosity, or
does it matter? The lady that takes your calls at the company doesn't
know what zero porosity is.
Thanks,
Russell
russell
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Valdosta, Georgia

Postby lazairiii » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:42 pm

Russell,

I used Medium weight Poly-Fiber from Aricraft Spruce. It does require you to "seal" the fabric and apply a UV coat prior to painting, but yeilds excellent
results.

From this...

George
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
lazairiii
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:19 pm

Postby lazairiii » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:42 pm

To this...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
lazairiii
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:19 pm

Postby lazairiii » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:43 pm

Almost there...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
lazairiii
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:19 pm

Postby lazairiii » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:43 pm

The finished product...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
lazairiii
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:19 pm

Postby rayjb60 » Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:42 am

Hey cuttie nice tips!...... :D




Whats that foreign object along the edge?


Ray
<H5>Nothing is impossible...Even the word tells you Im-Possible!!!</ H5>
User avatar
rayjb60
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:49 pm
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA

Postby lazairiii » Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:26 pm

What you see is the streamline strobe head...
lazairiii
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:19 pm

Postby rayjb60 » Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:48 pm

A strobe light?

Very cool.

I've been working on that idea myself, and think its important safety to have, since we are flying low and slow.

What are you using for your system?

Ray
<H5>Nothing is impossible...Even the word tells you Im-Possible!!!</ H5>
User avatar
rayjb60
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:49 pm
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA

Postby lazairiii » Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:44 am

Ray,

I had a guy design this for my plane. He builds strobes for the RC industry. The only regret I have is that I learned about 12 volt Gel Cell batteries too late and so I'm using 4 D-Cell batteries to power the strobes that I have on both tips. The entire set-up weighs literally ounces, the batteries weigh several times what every thing else for the strobes weigh.

Pics to follow...

Thsi is the battery pack I built that sits directly on the boom tube on the CG. It has a small switch on each side to turn on each tip strobe.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
lazairiii
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:19 pm

Postby lazairiii » Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:45 am

Thsi is where it is mounted. You can see the plugs that I use to plug them into the wing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
lazairiii
LazairNUT
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:19 pm

Next

Return to Re-Building tips and info

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron